Tuesday, August 26, 2014

State fair 2014....

On Sunday, August 17th we took the girls to the Indiana State Fair.  We walked around for several hours, ran into a few friends and generally just had a great afternoon.  I have been wanting to attend the demolition derby at the fair for several years, but haven't been able to get tickets.  This year we did!!  The girls for the most part loved it.  Alexis was 100% totally engrossed in the cars crashing and catching on fire.  Addison didn't care very much for all the noise, but had a good time. Addison liked it when the cars had to be hauled away because they couldn't drive anymore.  Alexis still has been talking about the "crash 'em up derby".  Here are a few of my favorite pics:
 
 

 
I tried to get the girls to make a "mean face".  This is the best that they could do!!
 
 
 
We had a limited amount of time before the demolition derby started and the girls wanted to ride a few rides.  Due to our time constraints and the fact that tickets were insanely expensive (and most rides took 2-4 tickets) we told the girls they could ride 2 rides.  Alexis chose the bumble bee ride and Addison chose this crazy "flying saucer" ride.  She called it the "I'm flying ride".  I'm still shocked that they both did it!

 
 




 
Alexis was literally on the edge of her seat the entire time.  I only wish that we would have been able to stay for the entire derby.  They had several heats of cars.  We stayed for 4 heats, but had to get home due to it being a school night.  It still seems weird to be saying that!  :-)

Wednesday, August 20, 2014

Nicu reunion....2014


This past Saturday (August 16th, 2014), we attended our sixth NICU reunion.  The girls call this their "tiny baby party".  Unfortunately, the weather was not on our side this day.  Pretty much immediately upon arrival, as Addison would say..."the sky started leaking".   We hung out for a little bit hoping it would pass.  We had a brief 15 minute period where the girls were able to get in a quick pony ride and a few games, but then it started pouring.  I'm sad that we decided to leave before we were able to meet up with any of our doctors or nurses.  Here are a few pictures:












Thursday, August 14, 2014

1ST DAY OF KINDERGARTEN!!!!

Yes, you read that title correctly!  1st Day of Kindergarten!!! Wednesday, August 13th, 2014.  My how time has flown by!!!  This post might be a little excessive with details but I have several things I want to document for my own memory.

For weeks the girl's have been super excited and have been talking a bunch about kindergarten.  We prepped with getting haircuts, a new outfit, a few new pairs of shoes, back packs and lunch boxes.  They were super stoked!

The girls have to catch the bus by 8:15.  Normally they don't even get up until 8:15-8:30ish, so I knew this was going to be a big transition for all of us.  About a week before school, we started going to bed slightly earlier and getting up 15 minutes earlier each day.  Regardless, the girls were still really sleepy when I woke them up.  

The girls got on their dresses (that they picked out themselves) and we proceeded to get breakfast, brush teeth, fix hair and get our shoes on. 




 
The girls were pretty excited to pick out clothing that all matched.  We purchased their lunch boxes after I went on an all out shopping frenzy to find "frozen" lunch boxes.  I failed so Alexis picked out a Minnie Mouse lunch box.  She then picked out a Minnie dress and matching Minnie shoes.  This was all her idea.  And then Addison had to follow suit!



Addison had selected a Hello Kitty Lunch box.  Hence, her matching Hello Kitty dress and shoes.
 



 
I hate that this one is blurry.  I have others on the "real" camera that I still can not download due to our house STILL being under construction. (That post for another time, I promise I will get to it soon!)  They girls were still very sleepy and didn't really want to oblige for photos.



 
I really did search EVERYWHERE to find Frozen backpacks and lunch boxes.  I finally found the backpacks but I'm still kinda bummed I couldn't find the lunch carrier.

 
Ready to head outside!!!


 


 
They see the bus down the street picking up other kiddos!


 
Addison pretty much made a mad dash to the bus.

 
Alexis followed behind.



It was a good thing that neither one of them looked back and that they were required to sit on the other side of the bus as us(they have assigned seating for kindergartners), because that's when I lost it!  I saw Terry with tears in his eyes and I knew I was a goner!

I admit that I cried a full on big ugly cry for about 45 minutes.  Since I didn't sleep AT ALL the night before I went to lay down. (I had taken the whole day off work).  I seriously stayed up the night before school playing out every horrible scenario that could possibly happen in my head.  I had a massive headache and couldn't really see straight.  Yes, I know.....all totally self-induced by worrying too much! 

I had every intention of following the school bus to school, but since I couldn't see right I stayed at home.  That didn't keep me from logging into the girls school to make sure they arrived safely.  The girls wear badges to school.  The badge is scanned when they get on the bus in the morning, when they arrive at school in the morning, scanned to pay for their lunch/milk (I have to pre-load money onto their badge to pay for their milk), scanned when they get on the bus to come home and scanned when they get off the bus at home.  I did log in several times to make sure that they arrived safely, to make sure that they got their milk at lunch time, and then I checked to make sure they were on their way home. 

The bus is supposed to return home with my kiddos at 3:50.  Terry and I went outside at 3:45 to wait for them.  3:45 came and went.  4:00 came and went.  I started to freak out a little.  Right around 4:15 the were dropped off.  I now know that the first week the bus schedule can be a little wacky.  This morning we almost missed the bus because it came about 8 minutes early.  Good thing we are so close to the bus stop!!!




I have to laugh at these photos. Typically Alexis is first with everything! And Addison is the follower. Not at school!!! Addison was first on the bus and first off the bus! Alexis for the first time was in the back.


 
She looks so tiny next to that big bus!!
 
Terry and I both poked and prodded both girls about their day.  Neither one of them said much other than that their day was "fine".  I think they both were just utterly pooped out!  The only information I could really pull was that they had chocolate milk with their lunch.  (They buy milk at school since I can't keep it cold enough in their lunch boxes) Addison said her favorite part of the day was art class and Alexis said her favorite part was recess.  This is very typical of both my kiddos.   
 
All and all the day went great.  The girls were super exhausted.  It was all I could do to keep them up until 7:00pm.  We had dinner, took quick showers and they were both out like a light by 7:30p.m.
 
 

Tuesday, August 12, 2014

I have no words....

I have no clue where the time has gone, but we are less than 24 hours away from our first day of kindergarten.  I can barely type this through my tears.  I most certainly will do a major update once I/WE get through this big milestone.  For now, I will leave you with some photos from our meet the teacher night yesterday evening.

Please keep your fingers crossed that this is a smooth transition for all of us!!








Tuesday, July 15, 2014

MEETING "FRED THE BIRD"....

On Saturday, July 5th, I was able to take my girlies to their first Cardinals game.  Anyone who knows me and Terry well, know that our relationship was founded on our love of baseball.  Our first date ended with us watching a baseball game at the bar instead of going to the movie like we had planned.  Although, the fact that he is a Cubs fan should of been my first deterrent......but I digress!!  :-)

My mom was able to score us some pretty awesome seats for the game.....low enough to be able to see the action, but high enough we were out of the sun and didn't melt! 

I will let the photos do the explaining.....Warning, there are a bunch!!!


 
Before the game photo of some signs my mom, my sister and me made.

 
STL is turning 250.  There are 250 birthday cakes displayed around the city.  This is the one in front of the stadium.

 
Family photo by the cake!

 
Silly face...

 
Who doesn't love a foam finger??


 
Selfie's with Aunt Sandy!



 
Doing the wave!!


 
More Selfies....


 
Not sure what the song was....But they played a song that referred to "show me your muscles". 

 
Love this!!

 
A small back story....Alexis had been counting down the days until the game.  She was hoping to see "Fred the bird" as she calls him.  She was beyond excited!  My sister Sandy pulled some strings and called in some favors and got Fred Bird to come visit my girls in our seats. 









 
Fred Bird even signed our sign.

 
I seriously can not even explain the smiles on their faces.  We didn't know when Fred Bird was coming or even if he would.  There wasn't a ton of time to get ready to snap photos.  The memories made that day were priceless!  Both my kids are still talking about it. 
 
It also happened to be "kids run the bases day" as well.  So, after the game we were able to go under the stadium to access the field and the girls got to run the bases. 


 




 
Seriously one of the most memorable days that we have had in a long time!
 
What little kid gets to have a personal visit from Fred Bird and go onto the field during their first game?  Pretty impressive if you ask me!!!
 
Thanks again to everyone who had a hand in making this day so fun for all of us!!
 
 
*****REMINDER*****
Please remember voting is still open to vote for our Blog.....

ONLY 12 MORE DAYS!!

Once you click on the link scroll down to blog #40 (that's us) and click on the heart in the upper right hand corner to vote. Easy peasy!!!